New Zealand defeated Bangladesh in the second T20I courtesy a fine century by Colin Munro (101) and with that has also won the series with one match to go. This Bangladesh vs New Zealand series thus belonged to the Kiwis.

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and asked Kiwis to bat first thereby losing the first initiative of the game. Kiwis took full toll of this misjudgement of decision by the Bangladesh captain as the scored 195 for 7 in their 20 overs, courtesy an explosive knock from Colin Munro who hit seven fours abd as many sixes in his 54 ball knock.

He was ably supported by Tom Bruce who scored an unbeaten 59 to add to the miseries for Bangladesh bowlers.

None of the Bangladesh bowlers were effective on the wicket as everyone gave away important runs. Economy rates of every bowlers was on the higher side with Mashrafe Mortaza and Shakib al Hasan going for 9.25 and 8 per over respectively.

In reply, Bangladesh had a poor start to their run chase again, as they lost Imrul Kayes (0) early. Tamim Iqbal (13) failed yet again and once Shabbir Rahaman (48) and Soumya Sarkar (39) was dismissed, Bangladesh lost wickets in a hurry and were bundled up for 148 inside 18.1 overs.

For the Kiwis Ish Sodhi bagged 3 for 36 with skipper Kane Williamson also taking 2 for 16 of his 4 overs.

Brief Scores (New Zealand 195/7 (20/20 ov) Bangladesh 148 (18.1/20 ov)


New Zealand won by 47 runs 

Facebook Comments