When India and Australia lock horns, especially in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, the anticipated intensity in the series is always skyrocketing, leading to several fireworks between both the teams. The four-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2017 was no different. The friction only increased with every passing game. The trigger happened in the second Test in Bengaluru when Australian skipper, Steve Smith, looked at the dressing room for an assist in a DRS review. That move, which Smith later called a “brain fade” was followed by a huge reaction from the Indian team. Virat Kohli lost his cool on the ground before bashing the Australian team in the press conference.

Indian sports broadcaster, Star Sports aired a video that caught Smith calling Indian opener Murali Vijay a f***ing cheater. In the final Test, there was a heated exchange of words between Matthew Wade and Ravindera Jadeja. While these controversies were not enough, Australian media went to another level by comparing Kolhi to Donald Trump. Towards the end, when Smith’s apology would have ended.

With the series concluded after one and a half months of marathon Test cricket, the focus has turned to the shortest format. The Indian Premier League is two days away and it is time for keeping the arch rivalry behind between the two countries and join hands in their respective IPL franchises.

The format of IPL brings together players from across the globe together; the emotion in international cricket has its own disadvantages. It sometimes goes on the develop bitterness between some of the best cricketers. It is the IPL that breaks the ice and help the same players to start afresh. Since the fierce Border-Gavaskar Trophy eventually ended with Kohli saying he is no longer friends with Australian players and never will be, there was a hullabaloo regarding the future relationship between the two sides.

In two days, players of both the teams will feature in the cash-rich tournament, IPL. Interestingly, many Indian and Australians cricketers will share the same dressing room for over a month now. If Kohli thinks they can’t be friends, the Indian T20 league will give them no choice but to shake hands and play as a team.

Let’s go through the franchises that will entertain Indian and Australians players, who were a part of the fiery Test series, together.

Rising Pune Supergiants:

India: Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin

Australia: Steven Smith, Usman Khawaja

Australian Captain, Steven Smith, will captain India’s vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane in the tenth edition of IPL. Smith was one of the major reasons behind the controversies that occurred during the Test series. His DRS saga was the moment that led to the beginning of clashes between India and Australia, that would go on to continue until the end of the series.

Embed from Getty Images

However, Rahane is not among the players who will hold grudges. He showed great character when he was the stand-in captain in the fourth and final Test in Dharamsala. He was not involved in any verbal fights on the field and at the end of the match, he was seen chatting a delight with his counterpart Smith. The latter even offered Rahane a drink – an Australian tradition that takes place after a series ends.

Ravichandran Ashwin was the other player from the Indian team who was a part of the severe Test series between India and Australia. Nevertheless, he has been ruled out of IPL 2017 due to a sports hernia injury.

Sunrisers Hyderabad:

India: Bhuveneshwar Kumar

Australia: David Warner

The Hyderabad-based franchise will have no issues after the Border-Gavaskar Trophy ended on a bitter note. While Bhuvenshwar played only the fourth Test, Warner was not involved in any controversy. A few years back, Warner was among the cricketers who were known for a bad behaviour on field. Now, the Australian vice-captain has been the one who has interfered to stop the fiery exchange of words during a match.

Embed from Getty Images

Warner is the defending champions’ captain and he will once again look to unite with the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Ashish Nehra and Kumar to inspire another excellent performance with the Orange Army.

Kings XI Punjab:

India: Wriddhiman Saha, Murali Vijay

Australia: Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis

Vijay, who had kept himself away from the unnecessary problems between the two sides, finally was dragged into it in the final game. During Australia’s second innings, the on-field umpire adjudged Josh Hazlewood out after he had edged Ravichandran Ashwin to Murali Vijay at second slip. The Indians celebrated and Vijay rushed off the ground to get his batting gear on for India’s second innings.

Embed from Getty Images

The hosts were left in dismay when TV Umpire reversed the decision and gave Hazlewood a life. Vijay without hesitating to express his disappointment and he indicated that he had taken a clean catch. Following that, a displeased Smith was caught on cameras, calling Vijay a “f***ing cheat.”

Meanwhile, Maxwell invited heavy criticism when he mocked Kohli’s injury in the Ranchi Test. The Indian captain injured his shoulder when he saved a boundary with a dive. In the same match, high on confidence after his maiden Test hundred, Maxwell, when saved Pujara’s boundary with the same diving save. He rolled over the ropes and while getting up and returning to his position, he was seen holding his right shoulder and having a laugh about it.

The social media erupted with disapproval of Maxwell’s act and more importantly, the Australian all-rounder did not care enough to apologise

Now that Maxwell is the captain, it will be interesting to watch how the Indians get along with him.  However, Vijay won’t be available under Maxwell as he is set to miss IPL 2017 with wrist and shoulder injuries.