There was never a doubt regarding who is the best club in the world right now – who else but Bayern Munich – the most competent and fearsome side who could run any team for their money. Even under pressure, they find a way to claw back and maintain their superiority.

Back in Qatar, in the Education City Stadium, the German Giants have taken their status as the ultimate best club in the world to newer heights. Bayern Munich beat Mexican side Tigres 1-0 on Thursday to win the Club World Cup title and earn their sixth trophy in less than nine months.

Benjamin Pavard scored in the 59th minute following a VAR review and in front of around 12,000 spectators allowed into the Education City Stadium, after Tigres keeper, Nahuel Guzmán had stopped a Robert Lewandowski header.

Tigres, who were the first North American club to reach the final, were pinned back by the high-pressing Bavarians throughout and only rarely managed to venture into Bayern’s half.

The Bavarians were missing several players, including Thomas Muller, Leon Goretzka, and Javi Martínez to Covid-19 infections and Jerome Boateng who returned to Germany for personal reasons.

Early efforts from Kingsley Coman and Lewandowski did not seriously threaten Guzmán, although the Tigres goalkeeper was beaten in the 18th minute by Joshua Kimmich but the German’s 20-meter strike was disallowed for offside.

Leroy Sané hit the crossbar with a powerful shot in the 34th minute. Tigres were struggling to break clear and with their French striker André-Pierre Gignac completely marked, it was only a matter of time until the Germans scored.

Sané had another chance after the break and Serge Gnabry curled his 51st-minute shot wide before Pavard found the net in the 59th minute, despite Tigres players claiming the ball had first landed on Lewandowski’s arm.

Bayern should have added another with a string of chances late in the game and Corentin Tolisso hit the post with a low shot as well.

It is Bayern’s second Club World Cup title after their 2013 triumph and means European clubs have now won the last eight consecutive finals.

Bayern Munich have cemented their place in footballing history, matching Pep Guardiola’s Barcelona to win a historic sextuple.

Former Bayern Munich boss Pep Guardiola, now the Manchester City manager, recorded a video congratulating his old team.

“Big congratulations to the whole Bayern family for this incredible success. To be the club world champions and to win six out of six titles – I am so proud,” he said.

“I would like to say to Hansi [Bayern boss Flick] you are the second team to win six in a row. Before it was Barcelona [in 2009 under Guardiola]. Maybe I can call Messi and company and we can play for the seventh title. Tell me when and where.”

Bayern now hold all six titles available to them. That includes the Bundesliga, Champions League, Club World Cup, and UEFA Super Cup, as well as their national domestic cup (DFB-Pokal) and super cup (DFL-Supercup).

Barcelona were the only team ever to hold all six titles at the same time before. In 2009, Guardiola’s legendary team won La Liga, the Copa del Rey, Supercopa de Espana, Champions League, UEFA Super Cup, and the Club World Cup. That squad is now frequently talked about among the greatest ever to play football.

In fact, Bayern had almost matched them once before, between 2012 and 2013.

Jupp Heynckes’ team won the quadruple in 2012-13 before following up with the UEFA Super Cup and Club World Cup under Guardiola the following season, but they didn’t hold all six titles at once as they lost the 2013 DFL-Supercup to Borussia Dortmund.

Hansi Flick took over as the interim boss in November 2019 following the sacking of Niko Kovac. Bayern had just been humiliated 5-1 by Kovac’s former side, Eintracht Frankfurt, and were down to fourth in the Bundesliga.


Since then, Flick has won more trophies (6) than he has lost competitive games (5). A special moment for the trio – Benjamin Pavard, Corentin Tolisso, and Lucas Hernandez because after winning the World Cup in 2018, they are now not only sextuple winners but champions of the world at both club and international level.

Facebook Comments