Either European champions Italy or Cristiano Ronaldo’s Portugal will miss out on the 2022 World Cup after being drawn in the same playoff path in Friday’s draw.

It means either Ronaldo and the 2016 European champions or four-time World Cup winners Italy will miss out on the tournament next year.

Italy finished as runners-up to Switzerland in the group stage of qualifying, while Portugal were pipped to the top spot in their group after a home defeat to Serbia, meaning both teams have to go through the new playoff system if they are to be at the finals in Qatar in a year.

Portugal will be at home to Turkey in the semifinals, while Italy will host North Macedonia. The winners of those two semifinals will meet for one place at the World Cup. Portugal or Turkey will be at home in the final.

World Cup 2022 qualifying: How it works around the world

“It hasn’t been a great draw, it could have gone better. We will have to beat North Macedonia and Portugal will have to beat Turkey,” Italy manager Roberto Mancini said after the draw.

“These are one-off games and there are always adversities. Just as we would have liked to have avoided Portugal, I think they [Portugal] would have gladly avoided Italy. Will we get to the World Cup? We are always confident and positive; the most important thing will be to have all the players available.”

Wales and Scotland were also drawn together, meaning only one of those two U.K. nations will be in Qatar. Wales face Austria and Scotland take on Ukraine in the semifinals. The remaining path sees Russia taking on Poland and Sweden playing the Czech Republic.

“We’ve given ourselves a great opportunity,” Wales manager Robert Page said in reaction to the draw.

“We’ve worked ever so hard to finish second and get that home draw. We’ve got everything to play for.”

Twelve teams will take part in the playoffs, drawn into three paths of four teams with two semifinals and a final in each. The winners of the three finals will take the last European places at the World Cup.

The playoffs are one-legged matches, with seeded teams at home in the semis and the hosts of the finals determined by a draw.

World Cup 2022 takes place in Qatar from Nov. 21 to Dec. 18.

Path A


Scotland vs. Ukraine

Wales vs. Austria


The winners of Wales vs. Austria will be at home in the final



Russia vs. Poland

Sweden vs. the Czech Republic


The winners of Russia vs. Poland will be at home in the final



Italy vs. North Macedonia

Portugal vs. Turkey


The winners of Portugal vs. Turkey will be at home in the final

The semifinals will be played on Thursday, March 24, with the finals on Tuesday, March 29.


Courtesy: ESPN

Facebook Comments